RSSEmailPrintHomeContact Us

Go To Search
Click to Home
Information for Voters
Voter Information
All eligible voters will cast their ballots at the Wetaskiwin Drill Hall (4515 - 50 Avenue); the City has not been divided up into voting subdivisions. The City of Wetaskiwin does not have a voters list, therefore proof of identification is required to vote (i.e. a neighbour may not vouch for you).

Only one piece of the following acceptable forms of identification is needed to vote: 
  • Photo identification issued by a Canadian Government or agency that contains you name and current address;
  • Bank/credit card statement or personal cheque;
  • Correspondence issued by a school, college, or university;
  • Government cheque or cheque stub;
  • Income/property tax assessment notice;
  • Insurance policy or coverage card;
  • Letter from a public curator, public guardian or public trustee;
  • Pension plan statement of benefits, contributions or participation;
  • Residential lease or mortgage statement;
  • Statement of government benefits
  • Utility bill
  • Vehicle ownership, registration, or insurance certificate;
  • A letter or form (attestation) confirming that you live at the stated address. The letter may be signed by the following:
    • Authorized representative of a commercial property management company;
    • Authorized representative of a correctional institution;
    • Authorized representative of a First Nations band or reserve;
    • Authorized representative of a post-secondary institution;
    • Authorized representative of a facility that provides services to the homeless;
    • Authorized representative of a supportive living facility or treatment centre;

Advance Votes
The Advanced Votes will be held at the Wetaskiwin Drill Hall (4515 - 50 Avenue) on the following dates:
  • Saturday October 7, 2017 from 12 Noon until 6 pm
  • Tuesday October 10, 2017 from 12 Noon until 6 pm

Election Day
Election Day is October 16, 2017. Voting hours are from 10 am until 8 pm at the Wetaskiwin Drill Hall (4515 - 50 Avenue). 

Institutional Voting Stations
The City of Wetaskiwin will have temporary voting stations for residents of the following:

Sunrise Village
10:30 - 11:30AM

Peace Hills Lodge
2:30PM - 3:30PM

Long-term Care
10:30AM - 11:30AM

Wetaskiwin Meadows/Kiwanis Kourt
2:30PM - 3:30PM

Wetaskiwin Hospital
12:30 PM - 1:30 PM

Madyson Manor
4:30PM - 5:30PM

Good Shepherd Lutheran Home
12:30PM - 1:30PM

Official Candidates
The following persons are running for election in the 2017 City of Wetaskiwin Municipal Election:

Candidates for Mayor:
GANDAM, Tyler  
RUECKER, Glenn  

Candidates for Councillor:
FULLER, Blain  
GANSKE, Pamela  
GOODE, Tony  
LEIBEL, Mervin  
MACQUARRIE, Patricia  
MCFAUL, Mark  
NEILSON, Wayne  
RULE, Amanda  

Go back to the main election webpage